Assembly Language8086 Tutorial 3

Monday, April 30, 2012 Posted by Glenn Von Posadas

Welcome to my third Assembly Language Programming tutorial for 8086 microprocessors.
In this third tutorial, we will be talking about the registers. By the way, in the next tutorial, we will go on to the 8086 instructions and in the 5th tutorial, finally, I will show you how to print "Hello World" :)

Anyway, there are 14 registers in assembly language 8086. And the most used registers are called: General Purpose Registers.

They are the:

AX- The accumulator(temporary) register
BX- the base address register
CX- the count register
DX- the data register
SI- Source Index register
DI- Destination Index register
BP- Base Pointer
SP- Stack pointer

And such first 4 General purpose registers can be break down into 8 bit registers.
FOR AX: we can have the ah and al
BX: bh and bl
CX: ch and cl
DX: dh and dl

And that's all for the tutorial #3. Yea, there are lots of topics about this register thing, but I won't cover them all. :)

glenn von

Author: Glenn Posadas

20 year old 5th year Computer Engineering Student, a blogger, photographer, programmer, and an electronics hobbyist; a Christian who loves God very much..

Sharing is so Easy:
StumpleUpon DiggIt! Del.icio.us Blinklist Yahoo Furl Technorati Simpy Spurl Reddit Google Twitter FaceBook

Post a Comment

Drop a comment. Thank you guys!